FR | EN

Fanette Mellier, a swinging exhibition

From 17 November until 16 December 2017, the first ever retrospective exhibition of the work of Fanette Mellier, an independent graphic designer specialized in editorial design, is taking place at the Charles-Gautier-Hermeland Media Library in Saint-Herblain (near Nantes). With this article, let me open for you the doors of an exhibition to discover, for all editorial design enthusiasts.

exhibition exposition Fanette Mellier

Fanette Mellier is a French graphic designer, who graduated in 2000 from the School of Decorative Arts of Strasbourg. She first worked for the graphic design studio founded by Pierre Bernard and became an independent graphic designer in 2005. Specialized in printed graphics, she often responds to atypical orders, in the cultural field: cultural institutions, foundations and publishing houses. In parallel with this work, she is involved in experimental projects in the context of residencies, "carte blanche" and exhibitions. Typography and Editorial design teacher at ENSAD, Fanette Mellier gives talks on graphic design all over the world. Her approach can be defined as a poetic exploration of industrial printing techniques, echoing the intellectual, cultural and social context of each project. It is therefore a chance and a real pleasure to be able to go to the first retrospective exhibition of her work which showcases posters but also works made in various contexts (commissions, residencies, personal projects).

generalife gardens granada alhambra

The strength of this exhibition lies in the diversity of projects shown both in terms of subjects and the design and shaping of objects. Whether it is a poster or a book, we notice how much Fanette Mellier elaborates a complete answer to a given subject, by thinking and mastering each participating element of the whole: concept, layout, typography, image, color (an important element of her graphic language), paper, format, binding, printing ... Care is brought to every detail thus creating complete and coherent projects revealing the engagement of a graphic designer in the enhancement of the text. The quality of the shaping and printing of her projects is the result of long-standing collaborations with paper manufacturers and also printers such as Lézard Graphique, where each project is an opportunity to take on new challenges and where, sometimes, 4, 6, 8 offset overlays are required to achieve the desired rendering. It is interesting to see how far we can push the technical limits when a relationship of trust and good intelligence is established between graphic designers and printers / manufacturers. It should also be noted, in the age of "Top Chef" and other "The Voice", that her posters for the Frac Aquitaine are co-signed Fanette Mellier / Lézard Graphique, a beautiful proof of humility, which de facto place the manufacturer in a peer-to-peer relationship.

jardin infi book design garden

Infinite garden for the Center Pompidou Metz. On the jacket of the book, a photograph of the garden of Giverny is reproduced with a green filter while the title appears in cutouts whose forms were recovered and slipped into the book, like a herbarium.

jardin infi book design garden pages

Like every work displayed in the main room of the exhibition, Jardin infini is available for consultation and manipulable at leisure.

Echoing Swing, the title of the exhibition evoking movement and rhythm, both synonyms of the work of composition, Pernelle Poyet imagined for this exhibition, a moving scenery made of rocking furnitures and colorful magnets. Some works are displayed on hanging shelves or on arches, swinging in reaction to the passage of visitors. To illustrate this notion of movement again, Fanette Mellier imagined a typography, which can be seen on the posters and in 3D in the room where each letter can switch on one side or the other. The posters on the wall are, for their part, hung with large pieces of geometric and colorful wood magnets. This hanging system aims to resonate with the poster without denaturing it as other systems could. Finally, each work of the exhibition in the main room is manipulable, allowing the public to appreciate the objects in their smallest details (typography, paper, binding, printing, etc.).

typeface exhibition nantes saint herblain fanette mellier

 

typeface exhibition nantes saint herblain fanette mellier

Example of rocking furniture presenting works.

posters frac aquitaine magnets exposition

Posters for the FRAC Aquitaine maintained by the colored hanging system.

The book below, Bastard Battle, is one of my many favorites of the exhibition. For this book, Fanette Mellier sought to express the energy and the surprising aspect of this writing inspired by references ranging from the Middle Ages to manga through kung fu. Each spread offers the reader a text that literally comes to life from the central fold. Depending on the passages of the story, the typography becomes mutant both in appearance and color thanks to a game on different layers of direct tones (pink, yellow, blue). These interventions on the very appearance of words and sentences occur as the book unfold, creating dynamics, rhythm and life within the book.

close up details book festival chaumont livre editorial design

Bastard Battle, a book by Céline Minard-Éditions Dissonances / Pôle graphics of the City of Chaumont, 2008, realized during a residency.

Beyond this main space of the exhibition, other works are also visible in showcases in the reading rooms, accompanied by sketchbooks where Fanette Mellier notes her ideas, inspirations, projects. There are writings, sketches, sometimes extracts of Pantone color chart revealing the design process of an editorial project. In addition, as part of this exhibition, Fanette Mellier has made a selection of works and works by artists who have influenced her work and are available at the media library. As you can see, it is difficult to summarize such a rich exhibition or to present each of these projects. It is for this reason that I invite the public in general as well as students in visual communication and design professionals in particular, to visit this exhibition which gives a pride of place to the book.

gif art books editorial



By Thierry Fétiveau – February, 2018. All rights reserved.

Further reading:
Fanette Mellier website
La bilbiothèque
Saint Herblain city

FR | EN

Fanette Mellier, une expo qui swingue

Du 17 novembre au 16 décembre 2017, se tient à la Médiathèque Charles- Gautier-Hermeland de Saint-Herblain (à côté de Nantes), la première exposition rétrospective du travail de Fanette Mellier, designer graphique indépendante spécialisée dans le design éditorial. Le temps d’un article, je vous ouvre les portes d’une exposition à découvrir, pour tous les curieux et les passionnés du design éditorial.

exhibition exposition Fanette Mellier

Fanette Mellier est une graphiste française, diplômée en 2000 de l’École des arts décoratifs de Strasbourg. Elle travaille d’abord pour l’Atelier de création graphique fondé par Pierre Bernard et devient designer graphique indépendante en 2005. Spécialiste du graphisme imprimé, elle répond à des commandes, souvent atypiques, dans le domaine culturel : des institutions culturelles, des fondations et des maisons d’édition. En parallèle de ces travaux, elle s’investit dans des projets expérimentaux dans le cadre de résidences, de cartes blanches et d’expositions. Enseignante en typographie et en édition à l’ENSAD, Fanette Mellier dispense des conférences sur le design graphique dans le monde entier. Sa démarche peut être définie comme une exploration poétique des techniques industrielles d’impression, en écho au contexte intellectuel, culturel et social de chaque projet. C’est donc une chance et un vrai plaisir que de pouvoir se rendre à la première exposition rétrospective de son travail qui présente des affiches mais aussi des ouvrages réalisés dans des contextes divers (commandes, résidences, projets personnels).

generalife gardens granada alhambra


La force de cette exposition réside dans la diversité des projets montrés tant par rapport aux sujets qu’à la conception et au façonnage des objets. Que ce soit une affiche ou un ouvrage, on remarque à quel point Fanette Mellier élabore une réponse complète à un sujet donné, en pensant et maîtrisant chaque élément participant de l’ensemble : concept, mise en page, typographie, image, couleur (un des éléments très présent dans son langague graphique), papier, format, reliure, impression… Un soin est apporté à chaque détail créant ainsi des projets complets et cohérents révélant l’engagement d’une graphiste dans la mise en valeur du texte. La qualité du façonnage et de l’impression de ses projets est le fruit de collaborations de longue date avec des fabricants de papier et aussi des imprimeurs tels que Lézard graphique où chaque projet est l’occasion de relever des nouveaux défis et où, parfois, 4, 6, 8 superpositions en offset sont nécessaires pour arriver au rendu recherché. Il est intéressant de voir jusqu’où l’on peut pousser les limites techniques lorsqu’une relation de confiance et de bonne intelligence s’établit entre designers graphiques et imprimeurs/façonniers. On notera d’ailleurs, à l’heure de Top Chef et autres Nouvelle Star, que ses affiches pour le Frac Aquitaine sont co-signées Fanette Mellier/Lézard Graphique, une belle preuve d’humilité, qui inscrit de fait le fabricant dans une relation d’égal à égal.

jardin infi book design garden

Jardin infini pour le Centre Pompidou Metz. Sur la jaquette de l’ouvrage, une photographie du jardin de Giverny est reproduite avec un filtre vert tandis que le titre apparait dans des découpes dont les formes ont été récupérées et glissées dans l’ouvrage, à la manière d’un herbier.

jardin infi book design garden pages

Comme chaque ouvrage présenté dans la salle principale de l’exposition, Jardin infini est consultable et manipulable à loisir.

En écho à Swing, titre de l’exposition évoquant le mouvement et le rythme, tous deux synonymes du travail de composition, Pernelle Poyet a imaginé pour cette exposition, une scénographie mouvante faite de mobiliers à bascule et de magnets colorés. Certains ouvrages sont présentés sur des tablettes suspendues ou sur du mobilier en arc de cercle, basculant en réaction au passage des visiteurs. Pour illustrer à nouveau cette notion de mouvement, Fanette Mellier a imaginé une typographie, que l’on retrouve sur les affiches et en volume dans la pièce où chaque lettre peut basculer d’un côté ou de l’autre. Les affiches présentées sur le mur sont, quant à elles, accrochées à l’aide de grandes pièces de bois géométriques aimentées et colorées. Ce système d’accroche a pour but d’entrer en résonance avec l’affiche sans la dénaturer comme pourrait le faire d’autres systèmes. Enfin, chaque ouvrage de l’exposition dans la salle principale est manipulable, permettant au public d’apprécier les objets dans leurs moindres détails (typographie, papier, reliure, impression, etc.).

typeface exhibition nantes saint herblain fanette mellier

 

typeface exhibition nantes saint herblain fanette mellier

Exemple de mobilier à bascule présentant des ouvrages.

posters frac aquitaine magnets exposition

Affiches pour le FRAC Aquitaine soutenues par le système d’accroche coloré.

L’ouvrage ci-dessous, Bastard Battle, est l’un de mes nombreux coups de cœur de l’exposition. Pour cet ouvrage, Fanette Mellier a cherché à exprimer l’énergie et le caractère suprenant de cette écriture inspirée de références allant du Moyen-Âge aux mangas en passant par le kung-fu. Chaque double page offre au lecteur un texte qui prend littéralement vie à partir du pli central. En fonction des passages de l’histoire, la typographie devient mutante tant au niveau de son aspect que de sa couleur grâce à un jeu sur différentes couches de tons directs (rose, jaune, bleu). Ces interventions sur l’aspect même des mots et des phrases surviennent au fur et à mesure de l’ouvrage créant ainsi, de la dynamique, du rythme et de la vie au sein du livre.

close up details book festival chaumont livre editorial design

Bastard Battle, un livre de Céline Minard  Éditions Dissonances / Pôle graphisme de la Ville de Chaumont, 2008, réalisé durant une résidence.

Au-delà de cet espace principal de l’exposition, d’autres ouvrages sont aussi visibles dans des vitrines dans les salles de lecture, accompagnés de carnets de croquis où Fanette Mellier notes ses idées, inspirations, projets. On y trouve des écrits, des croquis, parfois des extraits de nuancier Pantone révélant les coulisses de la conception d’un projet éditorial. De plus, dans le cadre de cette exposition, Fanette Mellier a fait une sélection d’œuvres et d’ouvrages d’artistes qui ont influencé son travail et sont consultables à la médiathèque. Vous l’aurez compris, il est difficile de résumer une exposition aussi riche ou de présenter chacun de ces projets. C’est pour cette raison que j’invite le public en général ansi que les étudiants en communication visuelle et professionnels du design en particulier, à visiter cette exposition faisant la part belle au livre.

Par Thierry Fétiveau – Février 2018. Tous droits réservés.

Pour en savoir plus :
Le site de Fanette Mellier
La bilbiothèque
Ville de Saint Herblain