FR | EN

Meeting with Majid Abbasi

For about thirty years, Majid Abassi gained his experience in Iran and abroad in the design of book covers. Invested in many structures to enhance graphic design, he was kind enough to grant us this interview between a Toronto-Tehran flight; many thanks to him.

book cover ahmadreza ahmadi majid abbasi

Book covers, Ahmadreza Ahmadi, Elderly Peaople's notes, 2010, Cheshmeh Publication

Could you tell us briefly about your background, what led you to book design?

I designed my first book cover 28 years ago; with colored paper, photo, Letraset, Rapidograph, and hand, in the absence of today’s amazing tools. But, two years after, I began working with one of the best Iranian publishers in Teheran with which I have continued cooperating for 26 years; publisher of books on poetry, fiction, history, art, and philosophy. This gave me the opportunity to design several book covers with great enthusiasm. Now, at the threshold of my fifties, I can say that I am very satisfied with this process, although discontented with many other unattainable dreams that I am the only one to know. Book cover design was an extraordinary opportunity for demonstrating the abilities, improving the skills, constantly gaining experiences, and developing ideas in design. I have designed book covers more than anything else. I have also engaged in book design in the recent years, although much less than book cover designing.

book cover story majid abbasi iran

Book covers, Iraj Afshar éditions, 2006–2010, Cheshmeh publication

You gave some lectures at the University of Tehran, you were part to the Iranian Graphic Designers Society and the Neshan magazine. How do you perceive Iranian graphic design and its evolution these last ten years?

To the three main activities you mentioned must be added directing some important exhibitions. Persianissiomo was an exhibition of the selected posters of Iranian graphic designers I mounted in seven countries, namely the United States, Russia, Italy, Poland, Turkey, Cyprus, and India. It was eventually displayed on App Store after four years (the 9th and the last version of the exhibition Persianissimo' was an APP for both iOS and Android). I also coordinated four Iranian typography exhibitions with the help of my colleagues during five years in Iran. I wrote in an article about today’s Iranian graphic design: “… the new generation of the Iranian graphic designers who basically grew after the 1979 revolution and the war (1980–1988), changed the graphic design in Iran, were the result of their previous generation mentioned before. The audacity and the new ideas of the young graphic designers in using Farsi typography considering the modern technology, their lyricism as well as searching for new concepts with a new image of the Iranian graphic design, are part of what they have done so far. And now they claim a national graphic design with high standards.”

Majid Abbasi, “Originality in Graphic Design Today”, TYPO magazine 15, Prague (2005).

majid abbasi persian book cover

Book cover, Elapsed Time of Elderly People; A novel by Mahmoud Dowlatabadi, in three volumes – Second edition, 2007

How would you describe your style and its influences?

When designing covers, I attempt to create a truthful environment for interacting with the readers, in addition to be loyal to the content; an outcome in which there is no overstatement or prolixity: simple and transparent! A balance between form and content must be maintained in my work. The works must be appealing, comprehensible, have the sufficient life span, and be designed with the minimum elements. This is what pleases me. I sometimes design with type, picture, or a combination of both of them. My collection of covers includes this sort of works.

Generally, how to do you work on a design project? Have you a kind of methodology?

Any work of design must be carried out step-by-step. Design is a process and does not descend from heaven! The offer must be grasped and examined, then the subject needs to be analyzed and challenged. Afterwards, different capabilities of design must be put to use, the client must be consulted and his/her opinions must be sought –even if they are irrelevant. At last, the new outcome must be evaluated and the work must be finalized. When I receive an offer, I assess my capabilities and review different solutions in my mind as much as possible. Once I am contented, I begin the initial implementation. The surrounding environment or sometimes the things and people impact my work. While I am unconsciously influenced by Iranian culture.

 

book layout editorial design

Book design, Ahmadreza Ahmadi; All My Poems, 2009 Cheshmeh Publication

Which book or cover design project has given you the most satisfaction so far?

It is difficult to answer! Perhaps I’d better say none of them. I still want to do something other than these; something unexpected for myself, but honest with people. Of course, I know it sounds like a cliché. I mean it is easy to say but hard to put in practice, very hard!

You design mostly Persian books, what differences do you see between Western and Persian book design? Does the typography and calligraphy plays a more important role in Iran?

Typography plays a major role. My works with Persian type and Eastern atmosphere are no doubt quite distinct from their Western counterparts. My book covers clearly manifest and portray my attitude. They represent what I am. Uwe Loesch wrote in a note once that my book cover designs are like small posters: “They look like little posters standing effectively out against the rest of the world thanks to their expressiveness. However, there lies the danger that the books designed by Majid Abbasi will be bought and liked only because of their worth seeing designs. What more would one want?”

Uwe Loesch “A feast for the eyes”, Literary Images (2009).

persian type book cover colors

Book covers, Mostafa Mastour’s Short Stories, 2004-2011 Cheshmeh Publication

What are your projects for the next year?

I still yearn for new works. Meanwhile, I am currently occupied mainly with: Establishing a communication and design studio in an international scale based in Toronto and Tehran, creating a design portfolio of my 25 years, participating in the Alliance Graphique Internationale (AGI) congress in Switzerland and presenting my design works to the world’s most eminent designers, reconstructing and designing my new website on my 50th birthday on May 6th 2015, and more teaching.

Interview by Thierry Fétiveau – May, 12, 2015

Further reading:
Majid's Abbasi's website
His portfolio at Behance
AM+MA, studio based in Toronto

FR | EN

Rencontre avec Majid Abbasi

Depuis une trentaine d'années, Majid Abassi a forgé son expérience en Iran puis à l'international dans la conception de couvertures de livres. Investi dans de nombreuses structures pour valoriser le design graphique, il a bien voulu nous accorder cet interview entre un vol Téhéran–Toronto ; un grand merci à lui.

book cover ahmadreza ahmadi majid abbasi

Couvertures de livres, Ahmadreza Ahmadi, Les notes des personnes âgées, 2010, Cheshmeh Publication

Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur votre parcours et ce qui vous a amené au design éditorial ?

J'ai designé ma première couverture de livre à la main il y a vingt-huit ans avec du papier de couleur, des Letraset et un Rapidograph en l'absence des incroyables outils actuels. Deux ans plus tard, j'ai commencé à travailler avec l'un des meilleurs éditeurs iraniens à Téhéran avec lequel j'ai continué de coopérer pendant vingt-sept ans ; éditeur de livres de poésie, fiction, Histoire, art et philosophie. Cela m'a offert l'opportunité de créer plusieurs couvertures de livres avec beaucoup d'enthousiasme. Maintenant, au seuil de mes cinquante ans, je peux dire que je suis très satisfait de ce processus, bien que frustré de beaucoup d'autres rêves inatteignables que je suis le seul à connaître. Le design de couverture de livre a été une occasion extraordinaire pour démontrer mes capacités, améliorer mes compétences, acquérir constamment de l'expérience et développer mes idées dans le design. J'ai conçu des couvertures de livres plus que toute autre chose. Je suis également engagé dans la conception de livre ces dernières années, mais beaucoup moins que le design de couverture.

book cover story majid abbasi iran

Couvertures de livres, Iraj Afshar éditions, 2006–2010, Cheshmeh publication

Vous avez donné des conférences à l'université de Téhéran, vous avez fait partie de l'Iranian Graphic Designers Society ainsi que le magazine Neshan. Comment percevez-vous le design graphique iranien et ses évolutions ces dix dernières années ?

En plus des trois activités principales que vous avez mentionné, doit être ajouté le fait d'avoir dirigé d'importantes expositions. Persianissiomo était une exposition sur une sélection d'affiches de designers graphiques iraniens que j'ai monté dans sept pays, à savoir les États-Unis, la Russie, l'Italie, la Pologne, la Turquie, Chypre, et l'Inde. Elle a finalement été visible sur App Store après quatre ans (la neuvième et dernière édition de l'expostion Persianissimo' était une application pour iOS et Android). J'ai également coordonné quatre expositions de typographie iranienne avec l'aide de mes collègues durant cinq années en Iran. J'ai écris dans un article sur le design graphique iranien d'aujourd'hui: "... La nouvelle génération de graphistes iraniens qui, fondamentalement, a grandi après la révolution de 1979 et la guerre (1980-1988) a changé la conception graphique en Iran, a été le résultat de leur génération précédente mentionné auparavant. L'audace et les nouvelles idées des jeunes graphistes en utilisant la typographie Farsi se servant de la technologie moderne, leur lyrisme ainsi que la recherche de nouveaux concepts avec une nouvelle image de la conception graphique iranienne, font partie de ce qu'ils ont fait jusqu'à présent. Maintenant, ils revendiquent un design graphique national avec les normes élevées."

Majid Abbasi, “Originality in Graphic Design Today”, TYPO magazine 15, Prague (2005).

majid abbasi persian book cover

Couvertures de livre, Le temps écoulé des personnes âgées; Une nouvelle de Mahmoud Dowlatabadi en 3 volumes – Seconde édition, 2007 Cheshmeh Publication

Comment décririez-vous votre style et ses influences ?

Lors de la conception de couvertures, je tente de créer un vrai environnement pour interagir avec les lecteurs en plus d'être loyal envers le contenu ; un résultat dans lequel il n'y a aucune exagération ou prolixité : simple et transparent ! Un équilibre entre la forme et le contenu doit être maintenu dans mon travail. Les couvertures doivent être attrayantes, compréhensibles, avoir une durée de vie suffisante et être conçues avec le minimum d'éléments. Voilà ce qui me plaît. Je travaille avec la typographie, l'image ou une combinaison des deux. Ma collection de couvertures comprend ce genre de travaux.

Généralement, comment travaillez-vous sur un projet de design ? Avez-vous une sorte de méthodologie ?

Tout travail de design doit être effectué étape par étape. Le design est un processus et ne descend pas du ciel ! L'offre doit être saisie et examinée, puis le sujet doit être analysé et contesté. Ensuite, différentes capacités de conception doivent être mises à profit, le client doit être consulté et son/ses opinions doit être recherchées – même si elles ne sont pas pertinentes. – Enfin, le nouveau résultat doit être évalué et le travail finalisé. Quand je reçois une offre, j'évalue mes capacités et examine autant que possible différentes solutions dans mon esprit. Une fois que je suis satisfait, je commence la mise en œuvre initiale. Mon environnement ou parfois les choses et les gens, affectent mon travail. Dans le même temps, je suis inconsciemment influencé par la culture iranienne.

 

book layout editorial design

Design éditorial, Ahmadreza Ahmadi, Tous mes poèmes, 2009, Cheshmeh Publication

Quel projet de livre/couverture de livre vous a donné le plus de satisfaction à ce jour ?

Il est difficile de répondre ! Peut-être que je ferais mieux de dire "aucun d'entre eux". Je veux toujours faire autre chose que ceux-ci ; quelque chose d'inattendu pour moi-même, mais honnête envers les gens. Bien sûr, je sais que ça sonne comme un cliché. Je veux dire que c'est facile à dire mais difficile à mettre en pratique, très difficile !

Vous concevez surtout des livres persans, quelles différences voyez-vous entre le design éditorial occidental et persan ? Est-ce que la typographie et la calligraphie jouent un rôle plus important en Iran ?

La typographie joue un rôle majeur. Mes travaux avec la typographie persane et l'atmosphère orientale sont, sans aucun doute, très différents de leurs homologues occidentaux. Mes couvertures de livres révèlent et dépeignent clairement ma personnalité. Elles représentent ce que je suis. Une fois, Uwe Loesch a écrit dans une note que mes couvertures de livres sont comme de petites affiches : «Elles ressemblent à de petites affiches se tenant efficacement debout contre le reste du monde grâce à leur expressivité. Cependant, là se trouve le danger que les livres conçus par Majid Abbasi seront achetés et aimés seulement en raison de la qualité de leur design. Que voudrait-on de plus ?"

Uwe Loesch “A feast for the eyes”, Literary Images (2009).

persian type book cover colors

Couverture de livre, les histoires courtes de Mostafa Mastour, 2004-2011 Cheshmeh Publication

Quels sont vos projets pour l'année à venir ?

J'aspire encore à de nouveaux travaux. En ce moment, je suis principalement occupé à établir un studio de design à l'échelle internationale basé à Toronto et Téhéran, créer un portfolio rassemblant ving-cinq années de travaux, participer au congrès de l'Alliance Graphique Internationale (AGI) en Suisse pour y présenter mon travail à des designers parmi les plus éminents du monde et enfin reconstruire et designer mon nouveau site web pour mes cinquante ans, le 6 mai 2015 et enseigner d'avantage.

Interview par Thierry Fétiveau – 12 mai 2015

Pour en savoir plus :
Le site de Majid Abbasi
Son portfolio sur Behance
AM+MA, l'agence de Toronto