FR | EN

Adieu Cayenne!

The Collectif Carré Cousu Collé (of which I am a member) has teamed up with Bookster to publish an orginal book-poster about "Adieu Cayenne!" book from Albert Londres. The book tells the story of the escape of a prisoner from a jail in Cayenne, Guyane in the 1930s.

     


As the story takes place in the tropics, the colors of the poster are inspired by landscapes of the book; whether in Guyana or Brazil, the jungle, the sea, the river, the mud, the moving sands serve as scenery for history. These colors intermingle in the poster evoking the inextricable jungle.

couleur guyane cayenne jungle tropique jungle

In addition to color, the other central element of the poster is typography, it was designed specifically for this project. Albert Londres being a journalist, the reference to the newspapers typefaces of the beginning of the century appeared obvious.

journal newspaper didot didone title typeface

Newspaper cover "L'ouest Éclair" – january, 1916. (Source: BnF > www.gallica.bnf.fr)

So I get inspired by early-century newspaper headlines to design a typeface evoking this era while having a modern style. The width of the letters is sufficiently condensed to take up as little space as possible and angular endings evoke the harshness of the trials that the hero passes through.

revival didot typeface typedesign

poster book bookster gif layout print

jane nantes vernissage shop party people art

adieu cayenne bookster albert londres

pierre assouline bookshop librairie

book vitrine shop

You can purchase this bookster here!

FR | EN

Adieu Cayenne!

Le Collectif Carré Cousu Collé (dont je fais partie) s'est associé à Bookster pour éditer un livre-poster orginal autour de l'oeuvre "Adieu Cayenne !" d'Albert Londres. Le livre raconte l'histoire de l'évasion d'un détenu du bagne de Cayenne en Guyane dans les années 1930.


L'histoire se déroulant sous les tropiques, les couleurs de l'affiche s'inspirent des paysages présents dans l'ouvrage ; que ce soit en Guyane ou au Brésil, la jungle, la mer, le fleuve, la boue, les sables mouvants servent de décor à l'histoire. Ces couleurs s'entremêlent dans l'affiche évoquant la jungle inextricable.

couleur guyane cayenne jungle tropique jungle

En plus de la couleur, l'autre élément central de l'affiche est la typographie, celle-ci a été conçue spécifiquement pour ce projet. Albert Londres étant journaliste, la référence aux typographies de journaux du début du siècle nous a paru évidente.

journal newspaper didot didone title typeface

Une du journal "L'ouest Éclair" – janvier 1916. (Source : BnF > www.gallica.bnf.fr)

Je me suis donc inspiré des titres de journaux du début du siècle pour concevoir une typographie évoquant cette époque tout en ayant un style moderne. La largeur des lettres est assez condensée pour prendre le moins de place possible et les terminaisons anguleuses évoquent la dureté des épreuves que traversent le héros.

revival didot typeface typedesign

poster book bookster gif layout print

jane nantes vernissage shop party people art

adieu cayenne bookster albert londres

pierre assouline bookshop librairie

book vitrine shop

Vous pouvez vous procurer ce bookster ici !