FR | EN

Draw me a country

I recently led a 5 days workshop with first year students from e-artsup Nantes. In teams of four, they had to create a realistic and credible country. Next, they had to create the visual identity of the nation (flag or coat of arms) and its government (logo), as well as a tourist brochure and stamps. Nice challenge for first year students, especially since this work was done remotely, because we were in confinement.

WORKSHOP INTRODUCTION

First, I showed the students flags and various government identities, such as that of France, that of the image of Sweden abroad (Söderhavet), the Dutch government (Studio Dumbar), the region of Vestland Flykeskomumne (Neue) ...

books cildren

Then, I showed different visual identities of imaginary countries like Borduria and Syldavia, the Khemed in The adventures of Tintin, the dystopian England of V for Vendetta, the Groland of Canal + or even the Palombia of the adventures of Spirou and Fantasio. These imaginary countries all have specific characteristics, like the accents of the border alphabet or its license plates.

basic typefaces common mainstream

BUILD A NATION

The first day of this workshop was devoted to a phase of research and design of this country only in the form of text and map at first. Students had to define all aspects of their nation: geography (climate, landscape, location), History, politics and administration, population and society (language, demography, religions), economy (main sectors of activity), Culture ... This very detailed description helped the students to create the resulting graphic supports. Here is an overview of the countries imagined by the different student groups below (in addition to other stamps, a 16-page brochure, a presentation document ...):

Loïkhos

The legend of Céline, Samantha, Arthur and Kenta tells that a giant manta ray, ancestor of all rays, would have met an underwater volcano in eruption with which it would have fused and given birth to this island. Initially populated by natives, this island was colonized by the English in 1748. In the 2000s, victim of real continents of floating waste, she decided to recycle marine litter. Its entire culture and economy is developed around recycling and respect for the environment.

books cildren

Maverick Island

This island imagined by Blandine, Gabin, Matthis and Mélanie was discovered by English navigators whose ship Maverick ran aground on the island in 1550 because of strong sea currents and dangerous reefs. Subsequently, this territory is divided into four regions: Emrox, Saphorca, Rubanther and Diameer, taking their names from the precious stones found there. The country prospered thanks to its situation of commercial crossroads between Asia and America.

books cildren

Kéltimï

Éloi, Kateline, Matthias, Romain designed the Kéltimï archipelago consisting of five islands, the central island of which includes a volcano. This nation brings together both natives and English settlers, so it is bilingual. The country is managed by a council of five elected officials (one from each island) who are called "deans". The wealth of the archipelago comes from tourism, mineral extraction and especially the export of Moïichi, a fruit that is found only on this archipelago and which represents more than 10% of the national GDP.

books cildren

Anavíosi

In the third century BC this island was inhabited by an indigenous people who suddenly disappeared, probably due to an illness. Anavíosi remains virgin of any human colonization during centuries considering its particular situation in the Bermuda Triangle. It was not discovered until 1980 by Henry Walton, a researcher who made this island a state solely dedicated to the preservation of nature and scientific research. Thanks to Timéo, Elsa, Ilan, Nathan, Margaux for this great story.

books cildren

Taoong

Léonard, Cassandra, Augustin and Adam invented a theocratic dictatorship born at the death of Mao. Traditionalists, wishing to return to the foundations of Taoist culture, took advantage of the chaos of 1976 to declare their independence. The Tao (supreme leader) runs the country with an iron fist, helped by his nine ministers. Benefactor of the People, the Tao is the embodiment of the supreme being that all must strive to achieve physically, mentally and spiritually.

books cildren

Azahowi

Initially a British colony, the island of Azahowi became independent in 1843. Its official language was English but the Azahowi language continued. The Island has a great biodiversity and has protected species, both terrestrial and marine such as the Pacific porpoise, the dwarf kingfisher ... This country, invented by Lysiane, Julien, Matthieu, Maxime lives mainly from its natural resources and tourism.

books cildren

Minstjar kingdom

Inhabited by the Vikings, this Scandinavian country imagined by Malik, Isabelle, Thomas and Axel, freezes in its borders in the 11th century. Since then, no conquest of territory has been made because Minstjar has a non-expansionary policy, it also does not have an army. This parliamentary monarchy led by Bjorn III attaches great importance to the environment.

books cildren

New-Shetland

Uninhabited for centuries, this archipelago was colonized by the English. A few years after this event, the population of Maori rejected by Australia took refuge on this archipelago. After conflicts with the already settled English, the two peoples finally managed to live in harmony. New-Shetland, imagined by Florence, Augustin, Kenzo and Félix, is part of the Commonwealth.

books cildren

Aztlan

The Nahuatlacas / Aztlante people come from the Aztec civilization which survived the diseases brought by the conquistadors and which puts medicine and the happiness of the individual at the heart of its culture, and its social policy. Renowned around the world, Aztlan is managed by a triumvirate made up of members of the people drawn by lot. Kudos to Roxane, Quentin, Kevin and Laurine.

books cildren

This week-long worshop was a challenge: to make two different classes work together and at a distance on a project of creation, narration but also of visual identity and global design. Despite the many tasks to be carried out, the students were very involved, some even produced additional supports, driven by the subject and the group dynamics. From April 20 to 24, the world temporarily changed, thank you to the GE1 for their work and their involvement.

books cildren

Text and pictures: Thierry Fétiveau – May, 2020. All rights reserved.

Further reading:
– e-artsup
– Norwegian banknotes design proposals
– Earth flag proposal
– "Face au brand territorial" book, Ruedi Baur
– Article on european cities branding

FR | EN

Dessine moi un pays

J'ai récemment mené un workshop d'une semaine avec les étudiants de première année Grande École d'e-artsup Nantes. En équipe de quatre, ils devaient inventer un pays réaliste et crédible. Ensuite, ils devaient créer l’identité visuelle de la nation (drapeau voire armoiries) et de son gouvernement (logo), ainsi qu'une brochure touristique et des timbres. Beau défi pour des étudiants en première année, d'autant que ce travail s'est fait à distance, car nous étions en confinement.

LANCEMENT DU SUJET

Dans un premier temps, j'ai montré aux élèves des drapeaux et diverses identités gouvernementales, comme celle de la France, celle de l'image de Suède à l'étranger (Söderhavet), le gouvernement des Pays-Bas (Studio Dumbar), la région de Vestland Flykeskomumne (Neue)...

books cildren

Ensuite, j'ai montré différentes identités visuelles de pays imagnaire comme la Bordurie et la Syldavie, le Khemed dans Les aventures de Tintin, l'Angleterre dystopique de V pour Vendetta, le Groland de Canal+ ou bien encore la Palombie des aventures de Spirou et Fantasio. Ces pays imaginaires ont tous des caractéristiques précises, comme les accents de l'alphabet bordure ou ses plaques d'immatriculation.

basic typefaces common mainstream

CRÉER UNE NATION

La première journée de ce workshop a été consacré à une phase de recherche et de conception de ce pays uniquement sous la forme de texte et de carte dans un premier temps. Les étudiants devaient définir tous les aspects de leur nation : géographie (climat, paysage, localisation), Histoire, politique et administration, population et société (langue, démographie, religions), économie (principaux secteurs d’activités), Culture... Cette description très détaillée a aidé les élèves à réaliser les supports graphiques qui en découlent. Voici donc, ci-dessous, un aperçu des pays imaginés par les différents groupes d'étudiants (s'ajoute à cela d'autres timbres, une brochure de 16 pages, un document de présentation...) :

Loïkhos

La légende de Céline, Samantha, Arthur et Kenta raconte qu’une raie manta géante, ancêtre de toutes les raies, aurait rencontré un volcan sous marin en éruption avec lequel elle aurait fusionné et donné naissance à cette île. Au départ peuplé par des autochtones, cette île est colonisée par les Anglais en 1748. Dans les années 2000, victime de véritables continents de déchets flottants, elle décide de recycler les déchets marins. Toute sa culture et son économie se développent autour du recyclage et du respect de l'environnement.

books cildren

Maverick Island

Cette île imaginée par Blandine, Gabin, Matthis et Mélanie a été découverte par des navigateurs anglais dont le navire Maverick a échoué sur l'île en 1550 à cause des courants marins forts et des récifs dangereux. Par la suite, ce territoire est divisé en quatre régions : Emrox, Saphorca, Rubanther et Diameer, tirant leurs noms des pierres précieuses s'y trouvant. Le pays prospéra grâce à sa situation de carrefour commercial entre l'Asie et l'Amérique.

books cildren

Kéltimï

Éloi, Kateline, Matthias, Romain ont conçu l’archipel Kéltimï constitué de cinq îles dont l'île centrale comprend un volcan. Cette nation rassemble à la fois des autochtones et des colons anglais, elle est donc bilingue. Le pays est géré par un conseil de cinq élus (un de chaque île) que l'on nomme "doyens". La richesse de l'archipel vient du tourisme, de l'extraction de minerais et surtout de l'exportation de Moïichi, un fruit qu'on ne trouve que sur cet archipel et qui représente plus de 10 % du PIB national.

books cildren

Anavíosi

Au IIIe siècle avant J.-C. cette île est habitée par un peuple autochtone qui disparaît brutalement, probablement à cause d'une maladie. Anavíosi reste vierge de toute colonisation humaine pendant des siècle vu sa situation particulière dans le Triangle des Bermudes. Elle ne sera découverte qu'en 1980 par Henry Walton, un chercheur qui fera de cette île un état uniquement dédié à la préservation de la nature et à la recherche scientifique. Merci à Timéo, Elsa, Ilan, Nathan, Margaux pour cette belle histoire.

books cildren

Taoong

Léonard, Cassandra, Augustin et Adam ont inventé une dictature théocratique née à la mort de Mao. Des traditionalistes, souhaitant retourner au fondements de la culture taoïste, ont profité du chaos de 1976 pour déclarer leur indépendance. Le Tao (leader suprême) dirige le pays d’une main de fer, aidé par ses neuf ministres. Bienfaiteur du Peuple, le Tao est l’incarnation de l’être suprême que tous doivent tenter d’atteindre physiquement, mentalement et spirituellement.

books cildren

Azahowi

Dans un premier temps colonie britannique, l’île d’Azahowi devient indépendante en 1843. Sa langue officielle est l'anglais mais la langue azahowi perdure. L'Île présente une grande biodiversité et possède des espèces protégées, à la fois terrestres et marines comme le marsouin du pacifique, le martin-pêcheur nain… Ce pays, inventé par Lysiane, Julien, Matthieu, Maxime vit principalement de ses ressources naturelles et du tourisme.

books cildren

Royaume de Minstjar

Habité par les Vikings, ce pays scandinave imaginé par Malik, Isabelle, Thomas et Axel, se fige dans ses frontières au XIe siècle. Depuis, aucune conquête de territoire n'a été faite car Minstjar a une politique non expansionniste, elle ne possède d'ailleurs pas d'armée. Cette monarchie parlementaire dirigée par Bjorn III accorde une importance capitale à l'environnement.

books cildren

New-Shetland

Inhabité pendant des siècles, cet archipel a été colonisé par les Anglais. Quelques années après cet événement, la population des Maoris rejetée par l’Australie s'est réfugiée sur cet archipel. Après des conflits avec les Anglais déjà installés, les deux peuples ont finalement réussi à vivre en harmonie. New-Shetland, imaginé par Florence, Augustin, Kenzo et Félix, fait partie du Commonwealth.

books cildren

Aztlan

Le peuple Nahuatlacas/aztlante est issu de la civilisation aztèque qui a survécu aux maladies apportées par les conquistadors et qui met la médecine et le bonheur de l’individu au cœur de sa culture, et de sa politique sociale. Réputé à travers le monde, Aztlan est géré par un triumvirat constitué de membres du peuple tirés au sort. Bravo à Roxane, Quentin, Kevin et Laurine.

books cildren

Ce worshop d'une semaine était un défi : faire travailler ensemble et à distance deux classes différentes sur un projet de création, de narration mais aussi d'identité visuelle et de design global. Malgré les nombreuses tâches à réaliser, les élèves étaient très impliqués, certains ont même réalisé des supports supplémentaires, entraînés par le sujet et la dynamique de groupe. Du 20 au 24 avril, le monde a temporairement changé d'aspect, merci aux GE1 pour leur travail et leur implication.

books cildren

Texte et images : Thierry Fétiveau – mai 2020. Tous droits réservés.

Pour en savoir plus :
– e-artsup
– Design des billets de banque norvégiens
– Projet d'un drapeau pour notre planète
– Livre "Face au brand territorial", Ruedi Baur
– Article sur les identités visuelles de villes européennes